Delete or force delete a server profile

You can delete a server profile that you no longer need while associated with a powered on server hardware. After you delete the server profile, the server hardware is available for another server profile. Network connectivity is lost on the server if the profile had a network configuration in it.

If you are having connectivity issues with a server profile or if a remove action fails for a server profile, you can forcibly delete it from the appliance.

IMPORTANT:

Before deleting a profile with local storage settings, back up any important data.

IMPORTANT:

Deleting a server profile that defines non-permanent volumes will result in those volumes being deleted from the storage system. Consider obtaining a backup of the data on nonpermanent volumes before deleting the profile.

NOTE:

Deleting a server profile with SAN volumes attached can fail if there are communication issues with the storage system. In such cases, retry deleting the profile or clean up the volumes and related objects from the storage system device manager and forcibly delete the profile.

Prerequisites
  • Privileges: Infrastructure administrator or Server administrator

Procedure
  1. From the main menu, select Server Profiles.
  2. In the master pane, select the server profile you want to delete.
    NOTE:

    To run this action on more than one object, use the Shift or Ctrl keys to select multiple objects in the master pane. See Performing an action on multiple resources.

  3. Select Actions > Delete.
  4. Optional: Select Force delete server profile.
    IMPORTANT:

    Forcibly deleting a server profile will ignore any errors that might occur. This can result in the server hardware and interconnects to be in a state that will prohibit future use of the enclosure bay, or cause networking problems if other profiles use the same MAC addresses or WWNs as this profile.

    After forcibly deleting a server profile, any server hardware assigned to it will appear as unassigned.

  5. Review the confirmation message, and click Yes, delete.
  6. Verify in master pane that the profile was deleted.