About restoring the appliance

Restoring an appliance from a backup file replaces all management data and most configuration settings with the data and settings in the backup file, including user names and passwords, audit logs, cryptography mode, but does not include the appliance network settings (appliance IP address, hostname and DNS server).

The appliance is not operational during the restore operation and it can take several hours to perform; the larger the configuration HPE OneView is managing, the longer the restore will take. A restore operation cannot be canceled or undone after it has started. The appliance blocks login requests while a restore operation is in progress.

IMPORTANT:

A restore operation must be used to recover from catastrophic failures, not to fix minor problems that can be resolved in other ways.

The backup file must have the same version of HPE OneView as the appliance you want to restore. You can restore onto the same appliance or a new installation of the appliance.

Actions during the restore operation

Description

Validates the resource inventory

During a restore operation, the appliance firmware validates the resource inventory (enclosures, servers, interconnects, switches) and reconciles the data in the backup file with the current state of the managed environment. The state of the managed environment is likely to be different from the state of the environment at the time the backup file was created. After the restore operation, the appliance uses alerts to report any discrepancies that it cannot resolve automatically.

Rediscovers enclosures to validate contents

During the restore operation, the appliance rediscovers each enclosure or fabric to validate its contents—especially to ensure that the appliance can still claim them and that the given instance of HPE OneView is the manager of the enclosure.

Then the appliance rediscovers each server and refreshes all rack servers.

Clears virtual IDs

To prevent duplicate identifiers on the network, the appliance clears server hardware configurations if an associated server profile is not in the backup. These servers most likely had a profile assigned after the last backup was made.

IMPORTANT:

During a restore operation, the appliance reconciles the data in the backup file with the current state of the managed environment. There are some discrepancies that the restore operation cannot resolve automatically. They are presented as alerts. After the restore operation, the appliance administrator must manually resolve any remaining inconsistencies.

See also Post-restoration tasks.

You can use the UI to upload a backup file and restore the appliance from it. You can also use REST APIs for this purpose.

More information