Revert to snapshot

You can revert to a prior snapshot of a storage volume.

NOTE:

Reverting to a snapshot of the storage volume will result in loss of current data in the storage volume. Perform a backup or take a snapshot of the storage volume before reverting it to a snapshot.

If you revert a volume to a snapshot, the current volume size is not affected. The volume will not shrink if you revert to a snapshot of that volume from when it was smaller.

See About snapshots for more information on snapshots.

Prerequisites
  • Minimum required privileges: Infrastructure administrator, Server administrator, or Storage administrator

  • The volume has been unmounted from the server profile with which it is associated by disabling the volume attachment storage path from the Server Profiles > Edit > SAN Storage screen.

Procedure
  1. From the main menu, select Storage Volumes.
  2. In the master pane, select the volume for which you want to create a snapshot and navigate to the Snapshot view.
  3. Find the snapshot to which you want to revert and click Revert.
  4. Review the message in the dialog. Click Yes, revert to revert the volume to the snapshot.
  5. Verify that the volume data has been reverted by viewing the activity for the task.