Configuration changes that require or result in resource outages

Appliance

Taking an appliance offline does not affect the managed resources—they continue to operate while the appliance is offline.

In an appliance cluster, HPE OneView is taken offline temporarily by an activate standby operation. HPE OneView resumes operation after the standby appliance becomes the active appliance.

When you install an appliance update, the appliance restarts and goes offline.

Enclosures

The Onboard Administrator (OA) is taken offline automatically during an enclosure firmware update.

Interconnects and logical interconnects

  • Server profile connections to networks in an uplink set are taken offline when you delete the uplink set.

  • Server profile connections to networks in an uplink set can be interrupted for a few seconds when you change the name of an uplink set using either of these methods:

    • Change the name of the uplink set in the logical interconnect.

    • Change the name of the uplink set in the logical interconnect group, and then update the logical interconnect from the logical interconnect group.

  • An interconnect is taken offline when you:

    • Update or activate firmware for a logical interconnect. Staging firmware does not require interconnects be taken offline.

    • Update firmware for an enclosure and select the option to update the enclosure, logical interconnect, and server profiles.

  • If an interconnect has firmware that has been staged but not activated, any subsequent reboot of that interconnect activates the firmware, which takes the interconnect offline.

  • You can prevent the loss of network connectivity for servers connected to a logical interconnect that has a stacking mode of Enclosure and a stacking health of Redundantly Connected by updating firmware using the following method:

    1. Staging the firmware on the logical interconnect.

    2. Activating the firmware for the interconnects in even-numbered enclosure bays.

    3. Waiting until the firmware update to complete and the interconnects are in the Configured state.

    4. Activating the firmware for the interconnects in the odd-numbered enclosure bays.

Networks

  • If you attempt to delete a network that is in use by one or more server profiles, the appliance warns you that the network is in use. If you delete the network while it is in use, server profile connections that specify the network explicitly (instead of as part of a network set) are taken offline.

    If you add a network with the same name as the network you deleted, connections that specify the network explicitly (instead of as part of a network set) are not updated—you must edit each server profile connection to reconfigure it to specify the network you added. Because you must edit the server profile to edit the connection, you must power off the server.

  • If you attempt to delete a network that is a member of a network set, the appliance warns you that the network is assigned to at least one network set. If you delete that network and there are other networks in that network set, server profile connectivity to the deleted network is taken offline, but connectivity to other networks in the network set is unaffected.

    You can add a network to a network set, including a network that has the same name as a network you deleted, while server profile connections to that network set remain online.

Network sets

  • If you attempt to delete a network set that is in use by one or more server profiles, the appliance warns you that the network set is in use. If you delete the network set while it is in use, server profile connections to that network set are taken offline.

  • If you add a network set with the same name as the network you deleted, connections that specify the network set are not updated—you must edit each server profile connection to reconfigure it to specify the network set you added. Because you must edit the server profile to edit the connection, you must power off the server.

  • Server profiles with connections to a network set can be affected when a network in the network set is deleted.

Server profiles and server hardware

  • Before you edit a server profile, you might need to power down the server hardware to which the server profile is assigned. See About editing a server profile for a list of edits that can be performed without powering down the server hardware.

  • Firmware updates require that you edit the server profile to change the firmware baseline. As with any other edits to server profiles, you must power down the server hardware to which the server profile is assigned before you edit a server profile.

  • Server profiles and server hardware can be affected by changes to networks and network sets.

  • Server profiles and server hardware can be affected by changes to the names of uplink sets.